9.6 C
Mount Panorama
Tuesday, April 23, 2024
HomeNewsReynolds/Tander fastest in Sandown 500 warm-up

Reynolds/Tander fastest in Sandown 500 warm-up

GROVE Racing has led the way in a short and sharp warm-up session ahead of the Sandown 500 main event.

In fact, three of its four drivers set faster times than anyone else in the field – an impressive feat given it only runs two cars.

After Team 18’s Scott Pye initially held top spot on a 1:09.6005s, Garth Tander put Grove on top with a 1:09.2036s on his second lap.

THE GRID: Where every car will start the Sandown 500

TACTICS: The race within a race for Erebus stars

The only driver to beat that time was Tander’s primary steerer in the #26 Penrite Mustang, David Reynolds, with a 1:09.1334s.

The sister #19 car ended up its nearest rival at 0.2115s adrift, Matt Payne responsible for that effort.

The #19 raised eyebrows late in the piece when Kevin Estre ran off after locking up into Turn 1.

That was the only major moment in the 20-minute session.

Programs varied team to team, with some focusing on race pace or maximising co-driver seat time, and others getting to work on practicing driver and brake pitstop changes.

Dick Johnson Racing, for example, left Alex Davison in the car for an 11-lap run at the start of the session, in which time many other cars had already pitted twice.

At the end, behind the two Grove cars was Walkinshaw Andretti United’s Chaz Mostert, Matt Stone Racing’s Jaylyn Robotham and Pye.

In other notable news, Simona De Silvestro was spotted on the broadcast, her arrival in Australia having been delayed by emergency appendix surgery.

De Silvestro will partner Kai Allen in a DJR wildcard at the Repco Bathurst 1000 in three weeks’ time.

Back to the Sandown 500, the 161-lap race starts at 2:15pm AEST this afternoon.

RESULTS: Warm-up, 2023 Sandown 500

126David Reynolds / Garth TanderGroveFord1m09.1334s
219Matthew Payne / Kevin EstreGroveFord+0.2115s
325Chaz Mostert / Lee HoldsworthWAUFord+0.2954s
435Cameron Hill / Jaylyn RobothamMSRChevrolet+0.2967s
520Scott Pye / Warren LuffTeam 18Chevrolet+0.4195s
611Anton De Pasquale / Tony D’AlbertoDJRFord+0.4775s
734Jack Le Brocq / Jayden OjedaMSRChevrolet+0.6164s
899Brodie Kostecki / David RussellErebusChevrolet+0.6340s
96Cam Waters / James MoffatTickfordFord+0.6945s
105James Courtney / Zak BestTickfordFord+0.6989s
1118Mark Winterbottom / Michael CarusoTeam 18Chevrolet+0.7217s
1223Tim Slade / Jonathon WebbPremiAirChevrolet+0.7779s
13888Zane Goddard / Craig LowndesTriple EightChevrolet+0.7857s
142Nick Percat / Fabian CoulthardWAUFord+0.7893s
1517Will Davison / Alex DavisonDJRFord+0.8283s
1655Thomas Randle / Garry JacobsonTickfordFord+0.8577s
1731James Golding / Dylan O’KeeffePremiAirChevrolet+0.8803s
1896Macauley Jones / Jordan BoysBJRChevrolet+0.8880s
1997Shane van Gisbergen / Richie StanawayTriple EightChevrolet+1.0483s
2088Broc Feeney / Jamie WhincupTriple EightChevrolet+1.0753s
219Will Brown / Jack PerkinsErebusChevrolet+1.0945s
2214Bryce Fullwood / Dean FioreBJRChevrolet+1.0971s
238Andre Heimgartner / Dale WoodBJRChevrolet+1.1113s
2456Declan Fraser / Tyler EveringhamTickfordFord+1.1285s
254Jack Smith / Jaxon EvansBJRChevrolet+1.1387s
263Todd Hazelwood / Tim BlanchardBRTFord+1.2490s
277Aaron Love / Jake KosteckiBRTFord+1.2754s

V8 Sleuth’s coverage of the 2023 Penrite Oil Sandown 500 is proudly presented by Biante – Fuel your passion with winning model cars. Visit Biante here to check out their range of model cars in a range of scales from 1:64 to 1:10.

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.