The Murray Sinclair-owned Nissan Primera. Pic: Historic Touring Cars NZ

STEVEN Richards will be on the grid at Pukekohe Park Raceway next month as part of the New Zealand Historic Touring Car category.

The five-time Repco Bathurst 1000 winner will hop behind the wheel of a Murray Sinclair-owned Nissan Primera Super Tourer on an emotional weekend as Supercars farewells Pukekohe across September 9-11.

It was announced last month all motorsport activities will cease at the North Island circuit after April 2, 2023.

MORE: McLaughlin backs push to preserve Pukekohe

“The Historic Touring cars represent the great memories we all have of fantastic on track battles in iconic cars from various eras gone by,” Richards said.

“I’ve been privileged over the years to participate in the Skope classic and Bathurst legends events at Hampton Downs.

“Racing at Pukekohe for a final time is special. It’s where Dad cut his teeth as a teenager, while Nanna and Pop watched under the big oak trees on the hill and where Pop’s ashes were spread after his passing.

“I’ve had great memories driving here in Supercars, NZ V8 Super Tourers and I rate it in the top four exhilarating race tracks that I had the pleasure of driving at.

Steven Richards (right) and Craig Lowndes after winning the 2018 Bathurst 1000

“Huge thanks to Murray Sinclair for trusting me with his Nissan Primera, a car which I’m quite familiar with.”

The Primera most notably was driven by ex-Formula 1 racer Eric van de Poele in the 1996 Spanish Touring Car Championship, picking up a couple of race wins that season.

Richards scored a Supercars Championship third-place finish at Pukekohe in 2005, driving for Team Perkins Racing.

His father Jim is among New Zealand’s finest motorsport products, collecting four ATCC/Supercars championships, seven Bathurst 1000 wins and various other titles.

Connor O’Brien joined V8 Sleuth in 2022 as website Editor. He won the Supercars Media Award in 2017 while working as a sports reporter at the Gold Coast Bulletin, before stints at Supercars and Speedcafe. During his time at V8 Sleuth he's twice (2022, 2023) been named Journalist of the Year at the Supercars Media Awards.