11.3 C
Mount Panorama
Friday, June 21, 2024


SHANE van Gisbergen and Garth Tander have won the 2020 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 at Mount Panorama, sending off the Holden brand in style with victory in their Red Bull Holden Racing Team.

V8 Sleuth’s Aaron Noonan has analysed all of the stats and numbers that matter from The Great Race’s 60thrunning.

DON’T MISS OUT: Celebrate Holden’s victory by getting a copy of ‘Racing the Lion’, our Holden illustrated history book. Order your copy here now.

– van Gisbergen and Tander are the first Bathurst winners to win from fourth on the grid since 2005 (Skaife/T.Kelly).

– Tander becomes the 10th driver to win four or more Bathurst ‘Great Races’.

– van Gisbergen wins in his 14th start in the race – only Paul Morris, Luke Youlden and Allan Grice have made more starts before winning their first Bathurst 1000.

– van Gisbergen becomes the 62nd driver in history to win the Bathurst ‘Great Race’.

– It’s Holden’s 34th Bathurst win and the 27th win for Commodore.

– Triple Eight’s eighth Bathurst 1000 win and fifth with Holden.

– Car #97 led 106 of the 161 laps. Car #17 McLaughlin/Slade led 30 laps, Car #6 Waters/Davison led 24 and Car #12 Coulthard/D’Alberto led one.

– Car #97 led every lap bar one from lap 56 onwards.

– Cam Waters (second) scores his first Bathurst 1000 podium and Will Davison gets his fourth Bathurst podium and first since 2016.

– Chaz Mostert (third) scores his first Bathurst podium since his win in 2014.

–  Warren Luff’s sixth Bathurst 1000 podium – equals the record for most podiums in Bathurst 1000 history without a win (equal with Brad Jones, Cameron McConville).

– Tim Slade’s fifth place with Scott McLaughlin is his best ever Bathurst 1000 result.

– Team 18 has scored its equal best Bathurst 1000 result with sixth place for Scott Pye and Dean Fiore. It equals the result of Mark Winterbottom and Steve Richards from last year and is Fiore’s equal best Bathurst 1000 finish.

– Seventh for Lee Holdsworth was his best Bathurst 1000 finish since 2010.

– Eighth for James Golding was his equal best Bathurst 1000 finish.

– Ninth for Anton De Pasquale and Brodie Kostecki is their best Bathurst 1000 finish.

– Alex Davison scores his 16th straight finish in the Bathurst 1000, maintaining a 100% finishing record in The Great Race since debuting in 2004.

– Jamie Whincup and Craig Lowndes have their first Bathurst 1000 DNF since 2002.

– There were five Safety Car periods affecting 14 laps.

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.