16.8 C
Mount Panorama
Saturday, April 20, 2024
HomeNewsBest penalty hands Allen Super2 points lead

Best penalty hands Allen Super2 points lead

AN incident for Zak Best in Race 1 at the Adelaide 500 has handed rival Kai Allen the Super2 Series lead heading into Sunday’s finale.

Polesitter Ryan Wood overcame a fast-starting Nash Morris to control a 40-minute race punctuated by two Safety Car periods.

The Walkinshaw Andretti United driver held off Cooper Murray in a three-minute sprint to the finish to take an impressive victory.

Allen and Best took the chequered flag third and fourth respectively, but a 15-second time penalty dumped the latter to 14th outright and 13th among the Super2 runners.

The duo engaged in a head-to-head contest during the race, swapping places while both running behind Morris.

Allen eventually cleared Morris before Best came unstuck trying to do the same, bumping the second-generation driver wide at Turn 5 and earning himself a penalty.

The results have turned Best’s 30-point lead into a 33-point deficit heading into Sunday’s second and final race, where 150 points are up for grabs.

Best’s penalty lifted Cameron Crick to fourth in the race result, giving Eggleston Motorsport a 2-3-4 finish.

V8 Sleuth’s coverage of the VAILO Adelaide 500 is proudly presented by Bad Boy Mowersexplore the world of Bad Boy Mowers with the new Spring/Summer catalogue of high-performance mowers here.

Aaron Seton drove smartly through a typically action-packed race to nab fifth ahead of Jordan Boys, Lochie Dalton, the recovering Morris, Aaron Cameron and Zach Bates.

Teammate to Wood at WAU, Bates had run as high as third early before being elbowed wide in a bold move by a hard-charging Murray.

Aaron Love finished 11th despite being spun into the wall at the exit of Turn 6 mid-race, contact from Bates having come amid a frantic mid-field battle.

Cam McLeod won Super3 honours with 12th outright, while fourth in class was enough to secure Jobe Stewart the third-tier title.

The race’s first Safety Car was called on the opening lap to retrieve Jordyn Sinni’s Commodore from the Turn 5 gravel trap.

The second came with just under 10 minutes on the clock, after Mason Kelly spun into the wall at Turn 7 and bounced into the path of a luckless Zane Morse.

Sunday’s Dunlop Series decider will take place at 1:20pm local time.

RESULTS: Race 1, Dunlop Series, 2023 Adelaide

12Ryan WoodHolden Commodore ZBDS223 laps
288Cooper MurrayHolden Commodore ZBDS2+1.064s
326Kai AllenHolden Commodore ZBDS2+2.828s
438Cameron CrickHolden Commodore ZBDS2+4.7532s
530Aaron SetonHolden Commodore ZBDS2+6.1497s
699Jordan BoysHolden Commodore ZBDS2+6.9831s
743Lachlan DaltonHolden Commodore ZBDS2+8.9797s
867Nash MorrisHolden Commodore ZBDS2+10.7784s
927Aaron CameronFord Mustang GTDS2+11.0557s
1025Zach BatesHolden Commodore ZBDS2+11.6384s
1178Jordan LoveFord Mustang GTDS2+13.2185s
1292Cameron McLeodNissan AltimaDS3+13.9903s
1333Callum WalkerHolden Commodore ZBDS2+18.0318s
1417Zak BestFord Mustang GTDS2+18.1477s
1555Rylan GrayFord Falcon FG XDS3+19.2337s
16117Jett JohnsonNissan AltimaDS3+21.5228s
176Elly MorrowFord Mustang GTDS2+21.5932s
1849Jay HansonHolden Commodore ZBDS2+27.0118s
19999Jobe StewartHolden Commodore VFDS3+33.1486s
2018Matt ChahdaHolden Commodore ZBDS2NC
2122Mason KellyNissan AltimaDS3NC
2211Zane MorseFord Mustang GTDS2NC
2354Jordyn SinniHolden Commodore ZBDS2NC
DNS5Brad VaughanFord Mustang GTDS2

V8 Sleuth’s ongoing coverage of the Dunlop Series for Super2 and Super3 is proudly presented by Biante – Fuel your passion with winning model cars. Visit Biante here to check out their range of model cars in a range of scales from 1:64 to 1:10.

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.