10.7 C
Mount Panorama
Wednesday, April 17, 2024
HomeNewsBathurstBathurst 100,000! The 2023 Great Race in numbers

Bathurst 100,000! The 2023 Great Race in numbers

A look back at the 60th anniversary running of the Great Race at Bathurst, by the numbers.

0.4830 – Brodie Kostecki’s pole-winning margin in seconds, the largest in a dry-weather Bathurst Shootout since Greg Murphy’s ‘Lap of the Gods’ in 2003.

3 – Bathurst 1000 podium finishes achieved by Erebus Motorsport, which now has a first (2017), a second (2023) and a third (2021) in its collection.

The Bathurst 1000 podium. Pic: Supplied

4 – years between Bathurst 1000 podium finishes for DJR/DJR Team Penske.

6 – times the race has been won from sixth on the grid. Three of those (2006, 2007 and 2023) have been Triple Eight cars.

7 – teams represented in the top seven finishing positions at the end of the race.

10 – Bathurst 1000 wins for Triple Eight Race Engineering, moving clear of the Holden Dealer Team/HDT Racing for the most in Great Race history.

13 – career Bathurst Top 10 Shootout appearances for Shane van Gisbergen, the most of any active driver and equal with Allan Grice for eighth all-time.

16 – cars on the lead lap at the finish, three less than in 2022.

19.9326 – the margin of victory in seconds, the biggest since Steven Richards led Craig Lowndes to the finish line in 1999.

30 – consecutive Bathurst 1000 starts for Lowndes, equalling Peter Brock for second all-time.

Craig Lowndes. Pic: Ross Gibb

64 – drivers to have won the Great Race at Bathurst, with Stanaway the latest to put his name on the illustrious list.

72 – points salvaged by Broc Feeney following a gear lever mounting failure while running in second place.

74 – laps led by the winning van Gisbergen/Stanaway Camaro, one of seven cars to lead the race.

88 – laps between the final Safety Car and the finish; the longest green-flag run to the chequered flag since 1991, when then were no Safety Car periods.

Van Gisbergen takes the chequered flag. Pic: Ross Gibb

131 – Kostecki’s points lead over van Gisbergen following the Great Race.

145 – laps led by Chevrolet Camaros out of the total 161.

160 – laps completed by the Mark Winterbottom/Michael Caruso Camaro, which was recorded as a DNF after pitting for fuel and being trapped in the lane when the race ended.

Mark Winterbottom. Pic: Ross Gibb

163.48 – the average speed of the winners in km/h, the second-fastest in Great Race history.

300.5 – the km/h figure van Gisbergen was recorded at on Conrod Straight by Supercars’ GPS data during Friday qualifying.

499 – number of Supercars Championship podium finishes achieved by Triple Eight Race Engineering.

Van Gisbergen and Stanaway on the Bathurst podium. Pic: Supplied

1999 – the last year in which two Kiwis teamed up to win the race: Steven Richards and Greg Murphy.

2212 – days between Stanaway’s Supercars race victories at Sandown in 2017 and Bathurst in 2023.

100,000 – total dollars pocketed by Brad Jones Racing through winning the Pirtek Pit Stop Challenge finale in five consecutive years.

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.