14.6 C
Mount Panorama
Saturday, May 25, 2024


CHAZ Mostert’s victory in the 2021 Repco Bathurst 1000 put him in an elite group of drivers to win the Great Race in both a Ford and a Holden.

While the ‘Red versus Blue’ battle has largely underpinned the race since the late 1960s, no driver won for both marques until the late 1990s.

Although Holden no longer exists as a car brand in Australia, its representative teams continue to chalk up success for the brand, which will have one final roar in the Bathurst 1000 next year.

As the celebrations continue at Walkinshaw Andretti United this week, V8 Sleuth takes a look at the five drivers to win Bathurst in both a Holden and a Ford.

Steven Richards

Ford: 1998, 2013
Holden: 1999, 2015, 2018

Richards and Bright in 1998. Pic: an1images.com / Dirk Klynsmith

Richards was the first to achieve the feat and did so in consecutive years!

He followed up his 1998 triumph alongside Jason Bright in a Stone Brothers Racing Falcon with success alongside Greg Murphy aboard a Gibson Motorsport Commodore a year later.

Richards switched between marques several times during his Supercars career and added more Great Race victories in a Ford Performance Racing Ford (2013) and Triple Eight Holdens (2015, 2018).

Tony Longhurst

Ford: 1988
Holden: 2001

Longhurst and Skaife in 2001. Pic: an1images.com / Graeme Neander

By contrast to Richards’ back-to-back effort, Longhurst’s Bathurst wins for Ford and Holden came 13 years apart and in two distinct eras of the sport.

The first was achieved with his own Ford Sierra outfit in 1988 and the second as co-driver to Mark Skaife at the Holden Racing Team in 2001.

Like Richards, Longhurst swapped marques several times in his career. Of his 24 Bathurst starts, 11 were in Fords and six in Holdens, with the balance made up by BMW (8 starts) and a Chevrolet.

Craig Lowndes

Ford: 2006, 2007, 2008
Holden: 1996, 2010, 2015, 2018

Lowndes lifts the Peter Brock Trophy in 2006. Pic: an1images.com

Lowndes’ breakout 1996 season with the Holden Racing Team was capped off by victory in the Bathurst 1000 alongside Greg Murphy, but further success with HRT on the Mountain eluded him.

His sixth Bathurst aboard a Ford (and second with Triple Eight) yielded the first of three straight Bathurst wins alongside Jamie Whincup.

Lowndes has won three more times since Triple Eight switched to Holden in 2010, including leading a team one-two in that first year back in a Commodore.

Jamie Whincup

Ford: 2006, 2007, 2008
Holden: 2012

Whincup and Lowndes in 2008. Pic: an1images.com

Whincup earned his place on this list by following up his three Falcon victories alongside Lowndes with a win aboard a Commodore in 2012, sharing with close friend Paul Dumbrell.

It remains remarkable though that Whincup only has one Bathurst 1000 victory in a Holden, considering he’s won 90 Supercars Championship races for the brand at other circuits!

His strike rate for the two marques at Bathurst stands at three wins in four starts aboard Fords, and one win in 16 starts for Holden.

Chaz Mostert

Ford: 2014
Holden: 2021

Mostert and team boss Ryan Walkinshaw celebrate. Pic: Nathan Wong

Mostert joined this list in just his second Bathurst start in a Holden, having taken his first win in his second start aboard a Ford back in 2014!

Prior to his defection to Walkinshaw Andretti United ahead of 2020, Mostert had been firmly in the Ford fold thanks to his time with what became Tickford Racing.

Mostert will be back in a Holden next year with WAU, although what he drives in 2023 remains the subject of speculation as the team is yet to publicly commit to the Chevrolet Camaro.

WAU MIA: Gen3 launch discussed on Castrol Motorsport News Podcast

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.