9.6 C
Mount Panorama
Tuesday, April 23, 2024
HomeNewsMurray passes Perkins to win on Super2 debut

Murray passes Perkins to win on Super2 debut

COOPER Murray has roared to a come-from-behind win on Super2 debut in the opening leg of the Newcastle round.

The Eggleston Motorsport driver had clinched pole position earlier in the day but was beaten to the first corner by a fast-starting Jack Perkins once the race belatedly got underway.

From there, Murray set about hunting down the 36-year-old, with little to separate the top four.

Indeed, there was still just 1.4s covering Perkins, Murray, Zak Best and Kai Allen come Lap 5.

There was a change for the lead the very next lap as Murray made an excellent pass down the inside at Turn 11 and withstood his Erebus rival’s efforts to fight back.

It wasn’t long before the first Safety Car of the season, called on Lap 7 after Jason Gomersall found the Turn 8 wall, with both Aaron Love and Jordyn Sinni caught up in a relatively light-contact melee.

Race control managed to get the race restarted before the extended 2:23pm cut-off, but that did little to worry Murray who stretched his lead to 1.5s on the first lap back under green flag conditions.

The final margin was 1.9786s as Murray became the first driver to win a race on Super2 debut since Cameron McConville in 2010.

There wasn’t too much front-of-field action in the dying stages, with Perkins, Best, Allen and Jay Hanson rounding out the top five, ahead of Brad Vaughan, Matt Chahda, Ryan Wood, Jay Robotham and Cameron Crick.

Cameron McLeod was the best of the Super3 cohort in 15th outright.

It was a tough start for Love, the Blanchard Racing Team rookie classified 24th after copping a pitlane penalty for spinning Jim Pollicina.

The latter was one of three non-finishers, joining Sinni and Nash Morris, who suffered a broken steering arm on Lap 2.

RESULTS: Dunlop Series, Race 1, Newcastle

188Cooper MurrayEgglestonHolden16m07.6566s
270Jack PerkinsErebusHolden+1.9786s
317Zak BestAndersonFord+2.6226s
426Kai AllenEgglestonHolden+3.3926s
549Jay HansonImageHolden+4.2529s
65Brad VaughanTickfordFord+5.0129s
718Matt ChahdaMCMHolden+5.3489s
82Ryan WoodWAUHolden+5.8437s
93Jay RobothamMWMFord+6.4775s
1038Cameron CrickEgglestonHolden+7.4935s
1125Zach BatesWAUHolden+8.9885s
1243Lachlan DaltonBJRHolden+9.4351s
1330Aaron SetonGomersallHolden+9.7873s
1411Zane MorseAIMFord+10.0827s
1592Cameron McLeodRMRCNissan (S3)+11.8317s
16999Jobe StewartImageHolden (S3)+12.6996s
1797Matthew McCutcheonEgglestonHolden (S3)+13.1027s
18117Jett JohnsonJohnsonNissan (S3)+14.0152s
1989Ryan GilroyAIMHolden (S3)+16.2752s
2022Mason KellyKelly RacingNissan (S3)+20.0913s
2139Chris SmerdonMSRHolden (S3)+34.007s
2233Callum WalkerWalker RacingHolden+34.4412s
236Elly MorrowTickfordFord+50.4685s
2478Aaron LoveBRTFord+57.7126s
25219James MastertonMastertonFord+1m19.4898s
2635Jason GomersallGomersallHolden (S3)+2 laps
DNF7Jim PollicinaMoCommHolden (S3)10 laps
DNF54Jordyn SinniEgglestonHolden7 laps
DNF67Nash MorrisMorrisHolden2 laps
Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.