8.5 C
Mount Panorama
Thursday, April 18, 2024
HomeNewsRandle, Kostecki take Sunday poles at The Bend

Randle, Kostecki take Sunday poles at The Bend

JUST as was the case yesterday, Tickford Racing and Erebus Motorsport will share the front row another two times today after an intriguing pair of qualifying sessions at The Bend.

Qualifying for Race 2

Tyre strategies differed up and down the lane as Sunday action got underway, but it was Tickford Racing that was shaping up best.

Entering the final runs of the opening 15-minute hitout, it was a Tickford Racing one-two-three-five.

Cam Waters was provisionally fastest on a 1:50.7716s – more than a second off the Saturday pole time – from James Courtney, Thomas Randle, Anton De Pasquale, Declan Fraser and Chaz Mostert in an all-Ford top six at that point.

By the end of proceedings, there was only one Tickford Mustang in the top 10 but it was still happy days as Randle snatched the first pole position of his main game career – less than 18 hours after celebrating his maiden solo podium.

Mostert and Waters both improved, but Randle blew them away with a 1:50.0684s.

It looked as though Brodie Kostecki might knock him off, but the championship leader fell 0.0526s short – which was at least good enough for the front row.

Matt Payne’s impressive weekend continued, and he’ll share the second row with fellow Kiwi Shane van Gisbergen.

De Pasquale, Mostert, Bryce Fullwood, David Reynolds, Will Davison and Nick Percat secured fifth through 10th, with Waters and Broc Feeney just outside the 10.

Will Brown wound up just 16th.

Qualifying for Race 3

Payne starred through the first half of the second session, banging in a 1:50.3591s and going better again the next time around with a 1:50.0804s.

That put him more than four tenths up on the field as he hopped out of the car, while rivals looked to improve in the closing stages.

As he nervously watched on, Payne’s pole hopes would quickly fade as Randle, Percat and Waters all jumped ahead.

But they would be no match for Kostecki, who nailed a last-ditch 1:49.4822s to take the biggest pole position margin in Tailem Bend history of 0.4238s.

Kostecki and Waters will be on the front row, with Randle, Percat, Payne, De Pasquale, van Gisbergen, Davison, Courtney and Fullwood behind.

Brown and Mostert were the big names to struggle, in 13th and 17th.

The two races today are scheduled to start at 12:50pm and 3:50pm local time (1:20pm and 4:20pm AEST).

Results: Qualifying for Race 2, 2023 OTR SuperSprint

155Thomas RandleTickfordFord1:50.0684s
299Brodie KosteckiErebusChevrolet+0.0526s
319Matthew PayneGroveFord+0.2104s
497Shane van GisbergenTriple EightChevrolet+0.427s
511Anton De PasqualeDJRFord+0.4338s
625Chaz MostertWAUFord+0.4528s
714Bryce FullwoodBJRChevrolet+0.4625s
826David ReynoldsGroveFord+0.4912s
917Will DavisonDJRFord+0.4921s
102Nick PercatWAUFord+0.4988s
116Cam WatersTickfordFord+0.5188s
1288Broc FeeneyTriple EightChevrolet+0.5872s
1334Jack Le BrocqMSRChevrolet+0.6018s
148Andre HeimgartnerBJRChevrolet+0.6566s
155James CourtneyTickfordFord+0.7434s
169Will BrownErebusChevrolet+0.8078s
1756Declan FraserTickfordFord+0.8385s
1820Scott PyeTeam 18Chevrolet+1.0032s
193Todd HazelwoodBRTFord+1.2695s
204Jack SmithBJRChevrolet+1.3055s
2131James GoldingPremiAirChevrolet+1.3094s
2235Cameron HillMSRChevrolet+1.3706s
2396Macauley JonesBJRChevrolet+1.4145s
2418Mark WinterbottomTeam 18Chevrolet+1.4315s
2523Tim SladePremiAirChevrolet+1.4767s

Results: Qualifying for Race 3, 2023 OTR SuperSprint

199Brodie KosteckiErebusChevrolet1:49.4822s
26Cam WatersTickfordFord+0.4238s
355Thomas RandleTickfordFord+0.504s
42Nick PercatWAUFord+0.5532s
519Matthew PayneGroveFord+0.5982s
611Anton De PasqualeDJRFord+0.6763s
797Shane van GisbergenTriple EightChevrolet+0.6813s
817Will DavisonDJRFord+0.6834s
95James CourtneyTickfordFord+0.7817s
1014Bryce FullwoodBJRChevrolet+0.8078s
1188Broc FeeneyTriple EightChevrolet+0.8408s
123Todd HazelwoodBRTFord+0.8954s
139Will BrownErebusChevrolet+0.9124s
148Andre HeimgartnerBJRChevrolet+1.0095s
1534Jack Le BrocqMSRChevrolet+1.0322s
1626David ReynoldsGroveFord+1.0443s
1725Chaz MostertWAUFord+1.0525s
1831James GoldingPremiAirChevrolet+1.0599s
194Jack SmithBJRChevrolet+1.0935s
2020Scott PyeTeam 18Chevrolet+1.11s
2123Tim SladePremiAirChevrolet+1.1125s
2256Declan FraserTickfordFord+1.2693s
2335Cameron HillMSRChevrolet+1.3154s
2418Mark WinterbottomTeam 18Chevrolet+1.3728s
2596Macauley JonesBJRChevrolet+1.3801s
Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.