17.9 C
Mount Panorama
Saturday, March 2, 2024
HomeNewsS5000 race winner lands European open-wheel seat

S5000 race winner lands European open-wheel seat

AUSTRALIAN young gun Cooper Webster will continue to spread his wings in the international open-wheel scene next year.

Webster is one of the key success stories out of the S5000 system, having debuted in the V8-powered category in 2021 and beaten the likes of Thomas Randle, James Golding, Nathan Herne and Joey Mawson to a race win in just his second round.

The 20-year-old has become a genuine S5000 frontrunner in subsequent seasons, and headed abroad to race in the 2023 GB4 Championship.

He wound up as the British category’s overall runner-up, and currently leads the inaugural Indian Formula 4 Championship for renowned Formula 2 squad MP Motorsport.

Cooper Webster placed third in the 2023 S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship despite missing a round. Pic: Supplied/Race Project

While his Indian campaign will continue into mid-December, Webster has now announced his 2024 plans will centre around the Eurocup-3 series.

Webster will race for Evans GP/Versa Motorsport in the cost-capped category which uses Formula 3 machinery.

The eight-round 2024 schedule will kick off at Belgium’s famed Spa-Francorchamps (April 19-20).

From there, Eurocup-3 will head to Austria’s Red Bull Ring, Portimao (Portugal), Circuit Paul Ricard (France), Zandvoort (The Netherlands), Aragon, Jerez and Catalunya (all Spain).

Webster is also a contracted Red Bull Esports driver.

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News