6.8 C
Mount Panorama
Wednesday, April 24, 2024
HomeNewsState of play: 2024 Supercars co-driver field

State of play: 2024 Supercars co-driver field

MORE than half the regular Supercars entries now have confirmed co-drivers and plenty more are falling into place, seven-plus months out from the annual endurance season.

Excluding prospective wildcards, three teams are all sorted – and they happen to be the teams responsible for the past six Bathurst 1000 victories.

Triple Eight Race Engineering has retained Jamie Whincup alongside Broc Feeney, and recruited Scott Pye to partner Will Brown. The Chevrolet homologation team will also field a wildcard, for which Craig Lowndes is confirmed and Cooper Murray is tipped.

Walkinshaw Andretti United has stability with Fabian Coulthard and Lee Holdsworth returning to the #2 and #25 respectively, while Dick Johnson Racing has reappointed stalwart Tony D’Alberto to the #11 and promoted Kai Allen into its famed #17.

Beyond that, there’s varying levels of vacancies elsewhere in the paddock.

Brad Jones Racing this morning announced three of its four co-drivers, hiring Declan Fraser and Jaylyn Robotham and keeping Jordan Boys. The identity of Jaxon Evans’ Sandown/Bathurst partner in the SCT Camaro is not known at this stage.

Grove Racing has Garth Tander under lock and key, but there’s no clarity yet on whether Frenchman Kevin Estre will return.

Michael Caruso is still tied to Team 18, who could plausibly look to again loan Warren Luff from WAU (unless the Clayton squad places him in a wildcard entry).

It’s also a case of one down, one to go for the Blanchard Racing Team. Jack Perkins will join James Courtney, but who will partner Aaron Love? Team co-principal Tim Blanchard has indicated he mightn’t get back behind the wheel in 2024.

Things have gotten messy at Erebus Motorsport but Betty Klimenko’s team should have options, even if Brodie Kostecki stays on the sidelines. David Russell was re-signed for 2024, and Jayden Ojeda is being evaluated by last year’s champions.

Just three teams are yet to formally announce any co-drivers.

Tickford Racing only has two enduro seats to fill instead of the usual four; James Moffat is safe in one, and Tyler Everingham is the hot favourite for the other.

With Ojeda and Robotham either possibly or definitely on the move, Matt Stone Racing is open for business. It ran Kiwi veteran Chris van der Drift in its #4 entry on Monday, and has Cameron Crick in line for a wildcard.

That leaves PremiAir Racing. Incumbent Jonathon Webb popped up with the team during testing at Queensland Raceway and did hop in for laps, but is not a certainty just yet. Zane Goddard was thought to be in the mix until deciding to take a break from professional motorsport.

The Sandown 500 – possibly the last ever edition – will kick off the 2024 enduros on September 20-22, in the lead-up to the Repco Bathurst 1000 on October 10-13.

The 2024 Supercars co-driver field (regular entries only)

Erebus MotorsportDavid Russell (#9)
Erebus MotorsportTBA* (#TBA)
Triple Eight Race EngineeringScott Pye (#87)
Triple Eight Race EngineeringJamie Whincup (#88)
Brad Jones RacingDeclan Fraser (#8)
Brad Jones RacingJaylyn Robotham (#14)
Brad Jones RacingJordan Boys (#96)
Brad Jones RacingTBA (#12)
Tickford RacingJames Moffat (likely, #6)
Tickford RacingTyler Everingham (likely, #55)
Dick Johnson RacingTony D’Alberto (#11)
Dick Johnson RacingKai Allen (#17)
Walkinshaw Andretti UnitedFabian Coulthard (#2)
Walkinshaw Andretti UnitedLee Holdsworth (#25)
Grove RacingGarth Tander
Grove RacingTBA
Team 18Michael Caruso (#18)
Team 18TBA (#20)
PremiAir RacingTBA
PremiAir RacingTBA
Matt Stone RacingChris van der Drift (likely, #4)
Matt Stone RacingTBA (#10)
Blanchard Racing TeamTBA (#3)
Blanchard Racing TeamJack Perkins (#7)

*Todd Hazelwood has been elevated from co-driver to stand-in primary driver; Jayden Ojeda being evaluated

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.