4.3 C
Mount Panorama
Wednesday, June 26, 2024
HomeNewsWHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW: PUKEKOHE SUPERCARS 2022

WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW: PUKEKOHE SUPERCARS 2022

WITH the last ever ITM Auckland SuperSprint at Pukekohe Park Raceway starting today, V8 Sleuth provides your guide to the coming three days of action.

SUPERCARS SESSIONS

Friday, September 9

Practice 1 – 30 minutes – 12:40pm AEST/2:40pm NZST

Saturday, September 10

Practice 2 – 30 minutes – 09:35am AEST/11:35am NZST

Qualifying for Race 27 – three-part format – 12:00pm AEST/2:00pm NZST

Race 27 – 41 laps – 2:40pm AEST/4:40pm NZST

Sunday, September 11

Qualifying for Race 28 – 10 minutes – 8:45am AEST/10:45am NZST

Qualifying for Race 29 – 10 minutes – 9:05am AEST/11:05am NZST

Race 28 – 41 laps – 10:55am AEST/12:55pm NZST

Race 29 – 41 laps – 2:10pm AEST/4:10pm NZST

THE PRIZE

The Repco Supercars Championship driver who accumulates the most points across the three races will be awarded the Jason Richards Memorial Trophy.

The coveted silverware has been a fixture at every New Zealand Supercars event since 2013 – and that won’t change even after Pukekohe closes to motorsport.

This will also be the last SuperSprint event of the year where a maximum of 315 points are up for grabs (100 per race win, five bonus points for fastest lap).

Pic: Supplied

SUPPORT CATEGORIES

The support card is led by the Archibalds Historic Touring Cars, a field which will feature Greg Murphy, John Bowe, Steven Richards and Paul Radisich.

Murphy and Bowe will steer Ford Sierras, while Richards and Radisich will drive a Nissan Primera and Ford Mondeo, respectively.

Other support categories in action will be NZ Muscle Cars, Formula Ford and Toyota 86.

MORE: By the numbers, Supercars at Pukekohe

MORE: New Penske deal for McLaughlin

SPECIAL TRIBUTES

More than a dozen iconic cars will roll out for the Repco Pukekohe Farewell Parade, touring the track at 2:45pm NZST (12:45pm AEST) on Saturday and 3:15pm NZST (1:15pm AEST) on Sunday.

Today, the broadcast will lead in to opening practice with a special segment, Pukekohe: The final lap.

A number of cars will run New Zealand-themed liveries too, including both Red Bull Ampol Racing Commodores, Thomas Randle’s Castrol Mustang, and the Safety Car.

The Kiwi-liveried Safety Car. Pic: Mark Horsburgh

HOW TO WATCH (IN AUSTRALIA)

Friday, September 9

Foxtel/Kayo: 12:00pm to 1:25pm AEST

Saturday, September 10

Foxtel/Kayo: 8am to 4pm AEST

7+: 8:30pm to 9:30pm AEST

Sunday, September 11

Foxtel/Kayo: 7:45am to 4pm AEST

7+: 8:30pm to 9:30pm AEST

Monday, September 12

7mate: 3:30pm to 5:30pm AEST

WHAT’S NEW

Pukekohe will mark the first event since two Supercars squads split with their team manager: PremiAir Racing (Dan Ensor) and the Blanchard Racing Team (Brendan Hogan).  

Among those subsequently taking on heightened responsibility will be BRT’s Mathew Nilsson, formerly co-team principal at Walkinshaw Andretti United.

PremiAir has also undergone an engineer reshuffle, with Geoffrey Slater switching to James Golding’s Subway Commodore and Triple Eight Super2 engineer Simon Hodge called up to work with Chris Pither.

BRT, meanwhile, will again have Chris Fitzgerald on deck as Mirko De Rosa continues his recovery from back surgery.

Also new: Cameron Waters switching from #6 to #50 as part of Enzed’s anniversary celebrations.

Geoffrey Slater (middle). Pic: Rhys Vandersyde / InSyde Media

CHAMPIONSHIP SCENARIO

Shane van Gisbergen leads by 500 points with no more than 1215 left to play for. He cannot seal his third championship until at least Bathurst, however.

The bigger battle is for the runner-up mantle as just 22 points cover Cameron Waters, Will Davison and Anton De Pasquale.

It’s also tight at the back end of the 10, with six points between Andre Heimgartner (ninth) and Tim Slade (11th) – James Courtney being the driver in between.

As far as the teams’ championship goes, Red Bull Ampol Racing holds a 196-point advantage over the Shell V-Power Racing Team. Tickford Racing is a further 603 points back in third.

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.



Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.