19.6 C
Mount Panorama
Wednesday, May 29, 2024


LEE Holdsworth was fastest in Qualifying at the 2020 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 on Friday afternoon, earning himself the honour of competing against the clock last in Saturday afternoon’s Top 10 Shootout at Mount Panorama.

The Truck Assist Mustang pilot hasn’t appeared in the Bathurst Shootout since 2015 and this year is just the second time in the last 10 years that he’s made the one-lap dash field at the Mountain.

There was 0.5296-seconds between the top 10 in qualifying – the closest top 10 in qualifying (prior to the Shootout) at Bathurst since 2009.

EARLY START: Bathurst 1000 race start time changed due to weather

ENTRY LIST: Every car and driver for the 2020 Bathurst 1000

TV GUIDE: Where and when you can watch the Bathurst 1000 on TV

AS IT HAPPENED: All the action from Bathurst 1000 Qualifying Day

There are five Fords and five Holdens in the Shootout – the last time this happened was 2007.

It’s just the fifth time in Bathurst history there have been five Holdens and five Fords in the Shootout.

Let’s take a look at the Bathurst Shootout form guide of the 10 drivers who will rock the clock at 5.05pm local time on Saturday afternoon.

1st – Lee Holdsworth, #5 Truck Assist Mustang

Has made his 5th Bathurst Shootout.

The last time he was fastest in provisional qualifying leading into a Shootout in Supercars was 2010 Gold Coast.

He’s made the Bathurst Shootout just twice in the last 10 years.

His last Bathurst Shootout in 2015 saw him equal his best Bathurst Shootout result – 4th.

2nd – Shane van Gisbergen, #97 Red Bull HRT Commodore

Has made the last 10 Bathurst Shootouts in a row.

However, he’s only qualified on the front row in that time once – pole in 2014.

Hasn’t qualified better than fourth at Bathurst since joining Triple Eight in 2016.

Has made every Shootout in the 2020 championship.

3rd – Scott McLaughlin, #17 Shell V-Power Mustang

Has made the Shootout every year he’s competed at Bathurst as a primary driver (since 2013).

Has qualified on the front row for 4 of the last 5 Bathurst 1000s (his pole last year was taken away in the aftermath of the event).

4th – Cameron Waters, #6 Monster Energy Mustang

His 21st straight Shootout in the Supercars Championship – only van Gisbergen, McLaughlin and Skaife have qualified for more Shootouts in a row in championship history.

His fourth straight Bathurst Shootout.

5th – Jamie Whincup, #888 Red Bull Commodore

Has made his 10th Bathurst Shootout.

Has made every Shootout this season.

Has taken two Bathurst 1000 pole positions, the last in 2016.

6th – Fabian Coulthard, #12 Shell V-Power Mustang

Has made his 7th Bathurst Shootout, his first at Bathurst since 2017.

It’s the first time since 2017 that both DJR Team Penske cars have made the Bathurst Shootout.

7th – Anton De Pasquale, #99 Penrite Commodore

Has made the Shootout in all three of his Bathurst 1000 visits.

Has made every Shootout this season.

8th – Chaz Mostert, #25 Mobil 1 Appliances Online Commodore

Has made his fourth Bathurst Shootout and first in a Holden.

The WAU team missed the Bathurst Shootout last year.

9th – James Courtney, #44 Boost Mobile Mustang

Has made his 8th Bathurst Shootout.

This will be his first Bathurst Shootout in a Ford since 2010.

His best Bathurst Shootout came in 2008 – 3rd with Stone Brothers Racing.

10th – Nick Percat, #8 R&J Batteries Commodore

Has made the Bathurst Shootout for the last three years in a row.

BJR has got at least one car into the Shootout in 8 of the last 9 years.

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.