16.3 C
Mount Panorama
Saturday, April 20, 2024
HomeNewsSupercars record-breaker making waves in rally scene

Supercars record-breaker making waves in rally scene

ALEX Rullo is being tipped to be a potential rally winner by the end of the season.

Once famous for becoming the youngest driver in Supercars Championship history, Rullo has committed to the rally path in recent years, initially on tarmac and now gravel.

Still just 23 years of age, the Perth product is about to enter his second full season in the Bosch Motorsport Australia Rally Championship.

Rullo’s 2023 campaign was headlined by fourth overall in the Adelaide Hills Rally, and now he’s gunning for more aboard his 2022-spec Hyundai i20 Rally2.

“He did a couple of events back in 2022 but really this is his second full season and to be honest, he has done amazingly well,” RallySport News’ Luke Whitten told the Motorsport News Podcast.

“The talent is pretty easy to see… you can tell when some guys just have the talent they need.

“And the experience that Alex has had from a professional background, obviously he has had some time in Supercars, and the attention to detail that you need to be able to drive a Supercar fast, he has translated that across to a rally car.

“To be able to have the car control that he does and whatnot is super important to, A) be fast, and B) consistent.

“What a lot of people don’t realise in rally is that you need to be so consistent over a whole rally weekend, because you can be fast on one or two stages but if you have some trouble, if you have a spin, if you have a half-spin, you’re going to be well down the leaderboard and you’re going to be chasing your tail all weekend to try to get back up there.

Pic: Alex Rullo

“I think he is going to be improving rapidly again this season.

“I’m not sure right at the start of the year whether he is going to be at the top, but by the end of the season, by the time we come to Rally Launceston, I think he will be really at the top and fighting for wins.”

Among other names in the 30-car field for next weekend’s Teckworkz Automotive Rally of Canberra (April 5-7) are ARC champion drivers Harry Bates, Lewis Bates, Molly Taylor and Scott Pedder.

ENTRY LIST: 2024 Australian Rally Championship, Round 1 (Rally of Canberra)

1Toyota Gazoo Racing AustraliaHarry BatesCoral Taylor2023 Toyota Yaris Rally2
2Toyota Gazoo Racing AustraliaLewis BatesAnthony Mcloughlin2020 Toyota GR Yaris AP4
3PWS Poly Welding ServicesEddie MaguireZak Brakey2019 Skoda Fabia R5
4Pedders Suspension and BrakesScott PedderGlenn Macneall2017 Skoda Fabia R5
5IntelliSpatial Fleetcare RacingAlex RulloSteve Glenney2022 Hyundai i20 Rally2
6Maguire MotorsportSteve MaguireBen Searcy2019 Skoda Fabia R5
7Molly Taylor MotorsportMolly TaylorAndy Sarandis2019 Subaru WRX STI
8Luff MotorsportJamie LuffBrad Luff2022 Toyota GR Yaris AP4
9White Wolf RacingTom ClarkeRyan Preston2018 Ford Fiesta R5
10IntelliSpatial Fleetcare RacingPeter RulloJames Marquet2022 Hyundai i20 Rally2
11Pinnacle Tyres MRFTony SullensKaylie Newell2012 Peugeot 208 AP4
12Winpart GroupJosh RedheadRay Winwood-Smith2012 Hyundai i20
13Techworkz AutomotiveMichael HardingJames Thornburn1993 Subaru Impreza WRX
14Peterson MotorsportAidan PetersonMitchell Newton2002 Subaru Impreza WRX
15DT ElectricalDanny TraversoAnthony Carr2003 Mitsubishi Evolution
16RNB MotorsportRyan WilliamsBrad Jones2003 Subaru Impreza WRX
17Massel RacingMichael CaineTomas Vadoklis2003 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo8
18WSC Subaru Experts/Link EngineJoshua WiedmanNick Reid1999 Subaru Impreza WRX
19Keegan TransportShane SmithWayne Richardson1999 Subaru Impreza WRX
20KAT RacingDave ThomasKelly Thomas2014 Subaru BRZ
21Magic BulletDave WrightJames Ford2006 Subaru WRX STI
22Mitch Garrad MotorsportMitch GarradTaylah Murphy2003 Subaru Impreza RS
23DCL Contracting GroupFrank O’SheaMurish O’Connell2004 Subaru Impreza WRX
24Jaidyn Gluskie MotorsportJaidyn GluskieLucy Gluskie2001 Subaru Impreza RS
25VictoryNathan StokesIan Wheeler2012 Subaru Impreza WRX
26GrolifeJustin NorthageScott Muhling2007 Lotus Exige
27High Country MotorsTrevor StillingJon Thomson1980 Datsun Stanza
28Trenching Systems AustraliaDave ThompsonLachlan Nordsvan1971 Ford Capri
29Trailer Camper Australia/CBR SparkiesPeter DimmockPaul Bennett1971 Datsun 260Z
30Retromotive/Rennen MotorsportSharath HegdéNicola Hoey1970 Porsche 911
Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.