6.8 C
Mount Panorama
Thursday, May 30, 2024


WILL Davison, Mark Winterbottom and James Courtney are all still on the hunt for their next Supercars race victory having last won a race back in the 2016 season.

Should they stand on the top step of the podium again sometime this year, they won’t have waited as long for victory as some have in the history of the Australian Touring Car/Supercars Championship.

Here are the five drivers who have waited the longest period of time between race wins in the ATCC/Supercars Championship.

1. Paul Morris: 13 years and 88 days

Paul Morris holds the record of the longest gap between championship race wins, nearly two years more than the nearest driver on the list.

Morris has three race wins in his Supercars Championship career, with the first two coming at Calder Park in 2001 aboard a Big Kev VT Holden Commodore.

It then took 232 more races for Morris to take the final race win of his Supercars career – the 2014 Bathurst 1000 with Chaz Mostert.

This means that Morris waited approximately two hours for his second race win, but then had to wait over 13 years for his third, and ultimately last victory!

Morris won the round at Calder in 2001. Photo: an1images.com / Graeme Neander.

2. Colin Bond: 11 years and 258 days

Colin Bond’s ATCC win drought dragged across an entire change of regulations in Australian touring car racing!

Bond led teammate Allan Moffat in a 1-2 finish at Adelaide International Raceway during round eight of the 1978 ATCC aboard his #2 Moffat Ford Dealers XC Falcon, his last race win driving a Ford Falcon in the ATCC.

The 1975 champion didn’t win again until round five at Lakeside during the 1990 championship, this time driving a Caltex Ford Sierra.

3. Jim Richards: 8 years and 109 days

Jim Richards won from 10th on the grid in race one at Mallala in 1994 in a Winfield Racing/Gibson Motorsport VP Commodore and waited eight years and 109 days until his next ATCC/Supercars victory.

That win came alongside former Gibson Motorsport teammate Mark Skaife in the 2002 Bathurst 1000. That victory was his seventh and final Bathurst 1000 crown.

While Richards last raced full-time in the ATCC in 1995, he remained a common sight in the Bathurst 1000 up until 2006.

Jim Richards celebrates victory at Bathurst in 2002 with HRT PR man Paul ‘Wally’ Weissel and Mark Skaife. Photo: an1images.com / Graeme Neander.

4. Lee Holdsworth: 7 years and 243 days

Lee Holdsworth is the most recent race victor to appear on this list.

Before he won the 2021 Bathurst 1000 alongside Chaz Mostert, his most recent race win came at Winton in 2014 driving a Mercedes-Benz E63 AMG for Erebus Motorsport.

That victory was the first for Erebus Motorsport in Supercars and was also the first win for a Mercedes-Benz in ATCC/Supercars history.

After chasing an intruder in his home earlier in the week – in the nude! – Lee Holdsworth scored a win at Winton in 2014. Photo: an1images.com / Dirk Klynsmith.

5. Dean Canto: 7 years and 166 days

Dean Canto has two Supercar Championship race wins to his name, one in a Holden and one in a Ford.

Canto won the reverse grid race at Wanneroo in 2006 behind the wheel of a Garry Rogers Motorsport VZ Commodore, but it wasn’t until 2013 when he next scored a race win.

This time as an experienced enduro co-driver, Canto partnered David Reynolds in The Bottle-O Falcon run by Ford Performance Racing and won the Sunday race on the Gold Coast from pole.

Dean Canto’s win in Perth in 2006 came at the last corner after leader Paul Radisich spun out in his Team Kiwi Commodore. Photo: an1images.com / Dirk Klynsmith.
Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.